The Historic Cambridge Collaborative is hosting the 13th annual Cambridge Discovery Days is comeing to East Cambridge on Saturday August 13. This is your chance to discover new parts of East Cambridge history. The tour begins at the History Station, corner of Cambridge and Third streets, by the Registry of Deeds at 10:00am.
In the 17th and 18th centuries, East Cambridge was virtually an island isolated from the rest of Cambridge, surrounded by salt marsh and the Charles River. Only after land speculator Andrew Craigie built a bridge (now the site of the Museum of Science) to Boston in 1809 and, in 1814, maneuvered to relocate the county courthouse from Harvard Square to East Cambridge did the area begin to develop. By 1880 most of the house lots were filled, and East Cambridge had become the industrial center of the city. The industries are now gone, but many 19th century houses remain. The tour will begin at Craigie’s courthouse complex and explore the area’s rich residential and industrial history
Guide: Susan Maycock, Architectural Historian, Cambridge Historical Commission
More information: Cambridge Historical Commission, 617 349 4683